Standing in Truth — Without a Crutch

No matter what you think the truth is, and no matter what you think knowing the truth amounts to, here’s something that you can’t get around…

If you know the truth because others convinced you that it’s the truth, (“truth” meaning, simply: what you believe is true, whatever that might be,) your knowledge can also be undone by others. If the only reason you believe it’s the truth is that someone led you to believe it, they can likewise lead you away from believing it. (I’ve seen this happen first-hand in the pseudo-cultic group I used to be involved with. The founders must be turning over in their graves at how their work has been turned over on its head, lol.)

So, maybe you were led to truth, or maybe it was fiction, or maybe you got led away from truth or fiction. If all you’ve got for it is the word of others, no matter how many there are or how authoritative they might be, you don’t know what happened, whether you were led to or away from what, so in fact you don’t really know much at all.

If you try to know the truth in a way that makes you independent, two things will happen:

  1. Those who want to lead you will warn against it, that you’re making a mistake, or even that you’ll go crazy. If you persist, they’ll eventually treat you as if you’re dangerous or even evil.
  2. You will in fact go crazy unless you do one of two other things:
    1. Give up and go back to what truth-leaders say.
    2. Cut your attachment to being led.

Cutting your attachment to being led feels like cutting your tether to sanity and reality. It also feels like you’re cutting your attachment to people and threatening your relationships with them. Unfortunately, many of those same people will tell you that’s exactly what you’re doing, and prove it by withdrawing from you or even spurning you. But this detachment isn’t about the people or the relationships — it’s about your need to be led. And if you’re involved with people just to lead them or be led, and if all they want to do is lead or be led by you or someone else, then you live in a very objectified and tenuous world.

Besides, when you think about it, none of it makes sense, because other people do not reasonably constitute tethers to reality. Your own experience is the most important tether you have. Your relationships with other people (both real and virtual) don’t constitute those tethers, either, unless your grasp of truth rests primarily on hearsay, gossip, books, reality TV, listening to podcasts, and watching videos — with maybe some church sermons or self-help lectures thrown in for good measure. Without your own experience, you have no way to evaluate all that information.

Other people and our relationships to them are important ways of checking our experiential tether to reality and vetting it if we end up with questions or doubts, but they’re no substitute for relying on what we experienced, what it felt like, and what we concluded by thinking about it all. If we’re attached to others for more basic and self-centered reasons, like for example relying on them for personal validation and self-esteem, we’ve to that degree subordinated ourselves to them, which of course is why being led by them makes so much sense to us.

It seems strange that cutting our attachment to being led would be so hard and intimidating, but in fact no one really teaches us how to do it. Our parents might have informed us with talk about responsibility and coming of age, and they might have forced us into detaching from them, but telling us we need to swim and pushing us into the water isn’t the same as teaching us how to swim. I think more parents now are teaching their kids how to (as opposed to that they have to) think independently and be psychologically self-sufficient than parents did when I grew up or when I raised my children, but for the most part most kids continue to be taught about financial independence rather than psychological independence, if they get taught by anyone at all besides hard knocks of life. And almost no one teaches the step that follows detachment: reattachment.

Reattachment to what? Show me a textbook or theological treatise or devotional or personal development theory that even asks that question. The answer to that question is alternately: to everything and/or to anything. It really doesn’t matter as long as it’s our choice. Some would argue that we need to reattach to God, but that only begs another question: Who decides what “God” is? Bottom line, either you get there on your own or you really don’t get there at all. The ultimate judge is each one of us for ourselves. Even if we play the game of abdicating judgment to someone else, we always choose the judge, so we’re the ultimate judge of at least that. It boils down to reattaching to one thing alone: oneself — the very prospect that those in lead-or-be-led worlds claim will bring on derangement or sociopathy or psychopathy or all three.

In other words, in almost every major culture we know of, individual sovereignty is the pinnacle of the insanely absurd and evil.

Nah.

Read some biographies. Those who altered culture and society and history in significant ways knew that individual sovereignty was the bomb. They were so sovereign that they pulled others into their orbits, got them spinning and moving in concert, created time-enduring works, and exemplified the ultimate capabilities of human beings both for good and for evil. They implicitly trusted themselves and their own agendas at fundamental, even primal and undeniable levels. When you choose to see things in only a certain way, most would call that “belief” or “faith”. When you cannot for the life of you see things any other way, we don’t talk about “faith” anymore — we just talk about what is. But that, I believe, is the faith (and make no mistake — it’s faith) that Jesus spoke of. And the sovereign know all about it.

The sovereign change the world, and they don’t ask permission. The dominion of heaven is a domain of kings and “royal priests” bent on the heavenly — sovereigns all. Here and now is where we learn how to be one. If you’re hoping you’ll magically know all of the sudden, one day over the rainbow, in a new age, after “enlightenment” or infusion of spiritual acumen or after some final transformation “when Jesus comes back,” in some far-off never-never land or cosmic plane of existence or heavenly realm, then you’ll probably be out of luck and won’t realize until it’s too late. What we’ll have there is what we brought there with us. For some, apparently, it won’t be much.

But if not, if this isn’t the classroom in which we learn more and more to live sovereignly, to overwhelmingly conquer here and now, (like Paul the apostle put it,) and if that knowledge, that skill, that consciousness will suddenly, mysteriously erupt only at a later point TBD regardless of what happens now, then what the hell are you whining about now and suffering for here? Why not just cut to the chase and get the free good stuff at the end of the rainbow road? What passive-aggressive malevolence in the universe inflicts misery and then rewards with ecstasy — strike that — rewards with ecstasy precisely because you put up with misery? I’ve known psychopaths who do just that.

“Ah, but you don’t understand,” the pseudo-wise say. “This is the way of things. This is the balance of reaping and sowing, of karma, of duty, of the Tao.”

Follow those connivers if you like.

About Millard J. Melnyk

Motley past, promising future exploring an open, potent understanding of mutuality, individual dignity and personal power through trust. DEAUTHORITARIANIZE EVERYTHING!
This entry was posted in Bible, Freedom, God, Relationships, Religion, Reversal, Spirituality, Truth & Rumors and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Standing in Truth — Without a Crutch

  1. The Author of truth hath given us His Spirit so we can comprehend the truth and He cannot lie…
    Even the very ignorant can comprehend truth!

    1Jn 2:26 These things have I written unto you concerning them that seduce you.
    1Jn 2:27 But the anointing which ye have received of him abideth in you, and ye need not that any man teach you: but as the same anointing teacheth you of all things, and is truth, and is no lie, and even as it hath taught you, ye shall abide in him.
    1Jn 2:28 And now, little children, abide in him; that, when he shall appear, we may have confidence, and not be ashamed before him at his coming.
    1Jn 2:29 If ye know that he is righteous, ye know that every one that doeth righteousness is born of him.

    brother malachi

    • Br. Malachi, thanks for your comments!

      Maybe “he” cannot lie, but we can. In my experience, everyone I’ve known who claims to know what other people should believe weren’t even honest about their own beliefs. I’m not saying that’s what you’re doing, but the repeated Bible quotes kinda triggered the association. I trust it doesn’t apply to you. And the verses you quoted are among my favorites, especially 1 Jn 2:27. I also very much like:

      1 John 2:20 But you have an anointing from the Holy One, and you know all.
      and
      1 John 4:6 We are from God; he who knows God listens to us; he who is not from God does not listen to us. By this we know the spirit of truth and the spirit of error.

      But you do exemplify what I’m talking about. Who chose the “Author of truth” as you understand him to be? You did. Or, if you maintain that he chose you — which I understand and in part agree with — then who made the decision that he chose you and that you did not choose him? You did. Who decided that the Bible communicates his truth? Well, actually, a bunch of power-hungry ecclesiasts in the 3rd century did, but you decided that they did a good job. All those decisions were yours. You are ultimately the author and finisher of your own faith. 🙂

  2. Millard….wheeeew….thanks for the analysis..I think! Ya kinda blew my mind which lately has been pretty easy to do! Your comments were, to me, kind of uneasy and sometimes frustrating….Brother Malachi’s response was comforting.

    If you say I am “led” by others..I guess I have to agree…but the ones that lead me all died 5000 to 2000 years ago…the inspired authors of the Bible However, their influence on me is quite different than those who believe the Bible is God’s Word in the religious Judeo/Christian world,

    My spiritual journey didn’t start until after I retired from teaching Biology in 2000. Up until that time I pretty much was led by the church I was born in…Roman Catholic. When my daughters were in school, (80’90’s) I went off on my own without my wife (spiritually that is…we are not divorced..we celebrate 47 years of marriage this June..she’s obvioiusly crazy) and was led into the fantasy world of Charismatic Christianity Ironically…that only lasted a couple of years and I eventually fell for 8 years in the legalistic Campbellite Church of Christ which ironically is light years from the charismatics.

    My next LEAD came from a Russian Orthodox friend who loaned me his Martin Luther and Erastmus of Rotterdam’s books…..they LED back to Roman Catholicism……strange to say the least. I guess my attachments and detachments are “Legion.”

    What caused my epiphany and freed me from being “led” by others? … There are two “causes”
    that started when I retired…my insatiable interest in Quantum Physics and the Bible. Not sure how it happened,,but when I read the Bible..I see a completely different message than the traditional fundamental, or even symbolic interpretations of Judeo/Christianity. (Jewish, Catholic or Protestant)

    When I read any Bible passage,, for some reason I translate it into scientifically based meaning. I tottalyy reject the “supernatural” and I came to the conclusion he nature f God’s reality thrugh that God must be PERFECT therefore His Laws must be PERFECT and violation of those Laws is non-sequitur.

    I have been writing my scientific “translations” of the Bible down for about 10 years now in the hopes of eventually writing a book that reveals that the Bible’s true message to mankind was “hidden” until the “Age of Reason” when man began to understand the reality of God’s Nature through the Scientific Method.

    You said that eventually everyone will think I am nuts..and I probably am…but I cannot help “leading myself.” in that direction and I have asked God to STOP me if I am chasing after an illusion. BTW..since I believe that Jesus Christ revealed that God dwells and works through His Creation and His PERFECT Laws….then I must be being “led” by God’s Spirit…if not..I am the biggest fool on the planet. Is not that EXACTLY what occurred to the writers of the Bible? They has NO clue they were writing God’s Word nor did they know “others” were doing the same thing that eventually ended up as the Torah and Talmud and New Testament. (Koran was not inspired it was plagiarized from the Torah and Talmud) . (This is why I do believe the Bible is God’s Word and the fact it was written so long ago. If it were written today..I would NOT believe it…I am NOT writing a Bible…..I am translating it into SCIENCE)

    BTW..I apologize if I have repeated some stuff from my previous comments I sent. (maybe too much?)

    I offer another example. of Science translation of Scripture (there are thousands and I’m work’n on ’em) ………. As far as I know….I know of no others who came up with this translation/interpretation…..

    God …….. (the ELOHIM …and I am translating that plural Word for God as the God that dwells and works within and through Creation) ……. God saw that Adam needed a “helpmate” (the indigenous females were smelly, hairy and stupid) and he placed Adam into a “deep sleep”, removed a “rib” from Adam and covered it with “flesh, blood and bone” Creating Eve. When God presented Eve to Adam, Adam exclaimed…..”At last..this is flesh of my flesh and bone of my bone, I will call her ‘women’ because she comes from man.”
    The Science…………. The “rib” is a rich and easily accessible source of adult stem cells. These cells are easily “reset” to an earlier embryonic state using appropriate enzymes creating Induced Pluripotent Stem Cells. Two of these cells are utilized in creating Eve. The “Y” chromosome is removed from the first cell and is discarded, the cell is saved. An “X” chromosome is removed from the second cell and is inserted into the nucleus of the first, the second cell is discarded. The altered cell containing the two “X” chromosomes….. essentially a “zygote”….. is induced with appropriate enzymes to start cleavage and is placed into a “surrogate uterus” (I suspect in vitro) where morphogenesis and gestation is completed and 9 months later “little” Eve is born. I suspect the “deep sleep” was a form of suspended animation because Eve was a mature young women when God presented her to Adam. Adam’s expression..”At last this is flesh of my flesh and bone of my bone…I will call her ‘women’ because she came from man” is certainly fulfilled in this “modified clone of Adam” (good thing the “Y” was replaced with an “X” or it would have been Adam and Steve)

    AGAIN your analysis was kinda tough, for me anyway…..I do appreciate it though and I got a lot out of it……I hope not all wrong.

    Take care and thanks..God bless…David Brown

    • David, sounds like I made ya think. If so, that’s what I’m after. Thanks for all your comments. I don’t follow everything you say, but I appreciate your love of truth. Peace bro. 🙂

Please let me know what you think!

