Senses

They told me, “This is the way: gouge out your eyes.”
So I did. Then they said, “We’ll lead you.”

They told me, “This is the way: burn off your ears.”
So I did. Then they said, “We’ll interpret for you.”

They told me, “This is the way: tear out your tongue.”
So I did. Then they said, “We speak for you.”

Then they told me, “This is the way: whore out your heart.”
But I said, “No.”

So they abandoned me, destitute.

Lord, revive my eyes and ears. Recover my tongue. Let my heart embrace and my bowels yearn.

Be merciful.

Let me see,
Let me hear,
Let me speak,
Let me feel and meld again.

You took nothing from me. I ceded. I abdicated.
It was my doing, my sin.

Forgive me.
Heal me.
Restore me.

About Millard J. Melnyk

Motley past, promising future exploring an open, potent understanding of mutuality, individual dignity and personal power through trust. DEAUTHORITARIANIZE EVERYTHING!
This entry was posted in Bullying, Freedom, Inspiration, Life & Death, Nonviolence, Poem, Poetry, Reversal, Violence and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Senses

Please let me know what you think!

