Constructive Engagement Paradigm (ICSA Conference, Italy)

I’m headed to Trieste, Italy, to present a paper proposing a “Constructive Engagement Paradigm” at the annual conference of the International Cultic Studies Association. ICSA is a network including both professionals and non-professionals who are “concerned about psychological manipulation and abuse in cultic groups, alternative movements, and other environments.”

My paper describes an alternative approach for engaging with people stuck in problematic relationships. It isn’t specific to “cults,” but I figure that if it works with “cults” it can work with just about any kind of abusive relationship. (I don’t like the term “cult” for the same reasons that I don’t like other thought-terminating clichés.)

Here’s the abstract that was accepted, landing me a spot at the conference; although when I submitted it, I called it Group Involvement Integrity Paradigm: ICSA 2013 Abstract – Constructive Engagement Paradigm

Here’s the conference flyer, if you’d like to check it out: Annual Conference, Trieste, Italy

Attendees represent an impressive spread from around the world. I’m one of over 100 presenters. My first paper and my first presentation, but hopefully not my last!

Wish me luck! I’ve always been terrified of public speaking, but I’m oddly confident this time. Should be fun! 🙂

Update: Here’s the draft of my paper, all 70 pages! If you do brave the waters, please let me know what you think! All’s fair and all’s good. 🙂

Constructive Engagement Paradigm DRAFT.

I’ll update this with the final version before I leave on the 1st…

About Millard J. Melnyk

Motley past, promising future exploring an open, potent understanding of mutuality, individual dignity and personal power through trust. DEAUTHORITARIANIZE EVERYTHING!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Constructive Engagement Paradigm (ICSA Conference, Italy)

  1. Jacob says:

    Great concept! I really like where you’re going with this. Good luck in Italy!

Please let me know what you think!

