Miracles On the Way to Truth

Jesus talked about sending a “spirit of truth” and said it would “guide you into all the truth.”

A reliable indicator that you are not following the spirit of truth is: you have no need for miracles.

You might “believe” in miracles. You might even experience a miracle now and then. But you steer clear of situations where you would need one. When situations like that occur, you wish they hadn’t.

There might be some argument about those statements, but anyone who argues with them probably does not expect miracles to happen. Hope? Yes. Pray? Yes. Expect? No.

If we don’t expect miracles to happen, no wonder they rarely do.

How many “Christians” do you know who live lives daring enough that they expect miracles to happen, so that they risk “following Jesus” in ways that make miracles necessary?

Not many, I’d bet. Not hardly a single one. Hear about them? Yes. Read about them? Yes. Know one? No.

I’m going to change that.

About Millard J. Melnyk

Motley past, promising future exploring an open, potent understanding of mutuality, individual dignity and personal power through trust. DEAUTHORITARIANIZE EVERYTHING!
This entry was posted in Freedom, God, Inspiration, Life & Death, Religion, Reversal, Truth & Rumors and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Miracles On the Way to Truth

  1. marcie says:

    Agree but I use to believe we prayed to the heavens for miracles. I now know we are the miraculous and until we believe and understand who we are they will be scares.

    • I’m with ya. Miracles are just the normal stuff that happens as we start living in the power we have. They only seem “miraculous” to people who pray to heaven for them because they don’t have a clue how they work. 🙂

    • s4rahislife says:

      We are powerful, we are wonderful, we are full. Full of him and of our own power. Same source, beginning without end. x

  2. Harold says:

    Where did you get the statement “A reliable indicator that you are not following the spirit of truth is: you have no need for miracles.” According to who is this a reliable indicator? You make this as a statement of fact. Where did it come from?

    If I step in front of a subway train and die, is it a statement of my lack of faith that I got run over, or stupidity.

  3. Hey Harold, glad to hear from you! 🙂

    That is my statement. That is my challenge. I make the statement from my own experience. But it isn’t without precedent from the Bible.

    Anyone who follows the spirit of truth into all the truth will end up in situations where miracles are required. Jesus spoke about it and Paul wrote about it. Read any Bible story you want. It’s all over.

    It has nothing to do with stepping in front of trains. When you have faith, you don’t feel obligated to demonstrate it to anyone. Jesus said that an evil and adulterous generation seeks for a sign.

    What prompts your questions? They seem a bit frumpy. Did what I wrote touch a nerve?

    And how about you? Do you steer clear of situations where you would need miracles? When a situation occurs that puts you into a position where you need a miracle to happen, do you wish it had not occurred?

  4. Harold says:

    What prompts my question is that I wanted to probe a little into where you are coming from with your statement. Some people say things like that with such authority. As if anyone who questions it is obviously stupid. What you are saying is still your opinion.

    I don’t necessarily disagree with your comments. Just challenging your motives. 🙂

    There is also another aspect to consider. There are those that want to treat God (or Jesus) like a genie in a bottle. A deity who is there to do their bidding as they wish. That is not right either.

    God is God and we are not. He does what He wants and it may not be what we expect Him to do. The Bible is clear on that too. He can do miracles…if He chooses to. And there are many situations where He did something completely unexpected. I just have a problem with people who EXPECT God to do something.

    Do I steer clear of situations where I need a miracle to happen? No. I don’t believe so.

    • Haha, Harold, I get you. I say it with some authority because I have found it to be true, both in my life and in the lives of people I know. I didn’t insinuate judgment towards anyone who disagrees. Unlike what you seem to be used to, I welcome disagreement, and I expect anyone who disagrees to explain why they disagree. Even just “I don’t like it” is a good explanation.

      Labeling what I wrote as “opinion” is a common dismissal tactic. If I’d told you that Paul the Apostle wrote that statement, would you have considered it more carefully? If so, why? It’s no truer if Paul wrote it than if I do. If I see something green caught in your teeth, that’s not just an “opinion.” What I wrote is just as clear to me as you are; actually more so, because I don’t have a real clue who you are apart from our on-line discussions. 🙂 If lack of need for miracles is an indication that we aren’t following the spirit, wouldn’t you like to know? It doesn’t matter who the messenger is. But by labeling it as “opinion” you apparently excused yourself from considering the merit of my statement. At least you didn’t comment on it other than to dismiss it.

      One reason people will consider an idea from an “authority” but won’t consider the same idea as someone’s “opinion” is that they do not have the wherewithal to judge the merits of the idea. In fact, we rely on “authorities” precisely so that we can avoid the hard and risky work of judging the merits of complicated or esoteric ideas. That makes a lot of sense with technical matters. It makes much less sense with spiritual matters. Spiritually, looking for someone I can trust to dictate truth to me (inject truth into me) is considered in both Old and New Testaments to be adultery.

      What you wrote about expectations does get to the issue, though. If God promises something, I expect it to happen. That doesn’t make him a genie in a bottle. There are plenty of explicit and implicit promises throughout the New Testament that miracles will accompany those who believe. Can you consider that in a way that DOESN’T involve trains and genies? 🙂

      As we go along, your comments on my statements are pretty consistent in trying to maintain the status quo instead of hungering and thirsting for more. I know that I have and do tend to avoid situations where miracles are needed. I see it as a problem. I find that as I follow the spirit, I get led into situations where I’m at a loss and need miracles in a variety of ways. I also get lots of feedback from people that boils down to the fact that they would choose to avoid those same situations EXACTLY because they know that they would be at a loss if they got into them. I’m pushing those limits for myself in ways that no one I know has been willing to attempt.

      To take your “Do I steer clear of situations where I need a miracle to happen? No. I don’t believe so.” at face value, I would expect you to be able to tell me how you solved that same problem and managed to push your own limits. I don’t get the impression that’s what you are saying though. I get the impression that you are denying that it’s a problem or that your limits need to be pushed. I doubt that.

      • PS. I just re-read your statement, “I just have a problem with people who EXPECT God to do something.” Damn, Harold. Don’t you realize that’s precisely what faith IS? Read the stories of the Syrophoenician woman or the Roman centurion and tell me that they didn’t expect Jesus to heal their loved ones. How is “faith” that does NOT expect God to do something still faith?

        I think the baby/bathwater distinction on this is the difference between “expecting” God to do something I want regardless of his will (your version of “expect”) and being of one mind with God so that we know what to expect (my version.) When I follow the spirit, the fact that I’m led into a situation of need IS ITSELF an implicit promise that God will provide what I need, just like Abraham told Isaac that God would provide the lamb. I expect it because God wouldn’t lead me somewhere just to forsake me.

  5. Harold says:

    Millard, You take my comments as trying to maintain the status quo. That is interesting. What is the status quo? I am coming more from the aspect of questioning your conclusions so that you explain more of what you are thinking. I don’t think I ever said you were wrong. I am just asking questions.

    You seem to want to judge my faith based on simple statements made anonymously on some blog. I am not trying to make conclusions about your faith. I’m asking you to explain what you are thinking. What kind of miracles are you talking about? The kind like Benny Hinn does? You know that Jim Jones did miracles too.

    I don’t EXPECT miracles. At least not explicitly. Maybe this is because I believe I experience miracles all the time. Maybe not the kind you are talking about. I hear about people frequently who are healed from cancer without any medical explanation. I also have experienced those that are not healed and pass away. There are circumstances that have happened in my life that I cannot explain. Were they miracles from God? I don’t have any other explanation. Maybe it’s just that I am not surprised by them.

    And the fact that we exist at all is a miracle beyond all miracles.

    “For since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities—his eternal power and divine nature—have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that people are without excuse.” Rom 1:20

    So just the fact that this universe, the earth, my backyard with all the flowers, bugs, and weeds… all of creation should be enough to for man to understand that there is a God and people have no excuse to believe otherwise.

    I do BELIEVE that what God says in Scripture is true and that He will provide for me. I BELIEVE that we all are in serious need of a miracle, and a Savior, named Jesus Christ.

    Maybe we are just discussing terminology.

    I’m not sure about the idea that following the Holy Spirit will lead you to situations that require miracles. I need more discussion on that.

    And yes, what Paul wrote carries more weight than your opinions. Sorry to burst your bubble. He had a direct revelation with Jesus Christ. In my opinion, the Bible has stood the test of time and can be trusted as THE benchmark for truth and that includes Paul’s letters in the New Testament.

    • Hey Harold! I’ve been busy for a few days. Just realized you posted this. Not ignoring, just swamped. I’ll try to respond over the weekend. Thanks!

    • Haha! I just reread my article, Harold. It’s been months since I wrote it, and I didn’t reread it before posting my long response to you below. Well, buddy, YOU said it. “I don’t EXPECT miracles.” So you identify yourself as PRECISELY the kind of Christian I wrote that piece for. Which of my other statements fit?

  6. s4rahislife says:

    Hey Mill. It’s wonderful to live this life isn’t it Darling.

  7. @Harold: Well not exactly “over the weekend.” I’ve been on quite a journey the last several months, and it’s landed me in SW England. I’ve been here since May, and my blogs have suffered in the meantime. I’ve finally settled for a while in Somerset County near a village called Burrington. Getting back into the writing flow this week…

    To answer your comment with my apologies for being so long overdue:

    “Status quo” meaning things much as they already are. I think the spiritual status quo, including the very best I have encountered in four decades of looking, sucks. It’s not even tolerable. We’ve been around this bush before.

    I clearly think that there is a problem, and you consistently take issue with me for saying so. Is that a judgment or is it an accurate assessment?

    The whole point of my blog post was to prod people to stretch beyond what they normally expect. I don’t have a preconceived idea of what that should look like for you or anyone else. My expectations are for myself. Do you have no interest in experiencing something new when it comes to miracles? If not, why not? If you do, what kinds of miracles come to mind besides fake ones like Benny Hinn’s and Jim Jones’s?

    I’m right with you on how we all tend to overlook miracles all around us, simply because we are accustomed to them and take them for granted. Yet you distinguish between miracles that you don’t expect (“I don’t EXPECT miracles”) and miracles that you experience “all the time.” You also referred to the miracle of God providing for our needs. Can you explain why you don’t expect some miracles (you don’t elaborate what they are) but apparently do expect (at least you’re not surprised by them) other kinds of miracles, i.e., those that happen “all the time” and God’s providence? I don’t get the distinction.

    As to your closing comment, I didn’t elevate my opinion to a par with Paul’s writings, but thanks for bringing up the possibility! 😉 I asked you if you would consider a statement more carefully if you thought that Paul wrote it, and why. You didn’t answer. I also said that a true statement written by Paul would be no truer than the same statement if I wrote it (or anyone else for that matter). The important factor is the truth of a statement, regardless who wrote it. Focusing on the credibility of a statement’s source is, of course, important. Focusing EXCLUSIVELY on source credibility to determine the merit or truth of a statement is PRECISELY the kind of credulity that cults are built on.

  8. Harold says:

    Hi Millard, Glad to hear from you. I have periodically checked your blog and wondered what happened to you. Glad to know you’re still around and interested in a dialog.

    You said “I asked you if you would consider a statement more carefully if you thought that Paul wrote it, and why. You didn’t answer.” I thought I did. But just to be clear, I would consider Paul’s writings in the Bible more carefully than yours. Those writings have been around for 2000 years and analyzed and dissected by many people over centuries who are much smarter than you or me, well me at least, who have documented why, when, and how Paul’s letters have come to us. What is written in our Bibles has not changed over the centuries either. It has been validated as trustworthy.

    I agree that a statement of truth is still truth no matter who makes it, but you weren’t saying something like the sky is blue that we can both validate. You get no argument from me on that. But your statement “A reliable indicator that you are not following the spirit of truth is: you have no need for miracles” is not so easily validated.

    On the subject of miracles, I say I don’t expect miracles because that’s God’s thing. He will do things according to His will not mine. There is a little girl here in Owasso who is fighting for her life after being found at the bottom of a local pool several weeks ago.

    http://www.hs.facebook.com/pages/Please-Pray-for-Rosalie/113775598763720

    There are a lot of prayers for this little girl and what has happened so far is a true miracle. She should be gone. I pray that she will wake up tomorrow and be a normal healthy girl. That would be a tremendous miracle, one that we could all marvel at for a long time. I know He CAN, but it would be presumptuous and arrogant of me to say that I somehow KNOW the will of God and expect that He WILL heal her.

    A good cult leader would use this to his advantage by claiming he knows God’s will and that she will be healed. If she dies, then he can claim that WE did not have enough faith. It’s our fault. If she does recover then this will validate his claim to know God’s will. He can’t lose. That’s another kind of credulity that cults are built on.

    You made the following statements on this blog:

    “Miracles are just the normal stuff that happens as we start living in the power we have.”
    “…being of one mind with God so that we know what to expect (my version.)”

    Can you truly claim to be of one mind with God? Isn’t that similar to what the serpent tried to tell Eve in the Garden? There are many spirits in this world and they have power, but not all of them are holy. Which one are you following and how do you know the difference?

    Regarding the ‘status quo’, like I said before I am not necessarily taking issue with what you said but asking questions to know more about where you are coming from. I agree with you that a lot of churches and church denominations are off track and are not an example to follow. Church splits and arguments don’t put Christianity in a good light and unfortunately that is the one thing that many people focus on.

    Groups like Smith’s Friends come along and try to paint the picture that they are the true Christians and inclusive of all people. But they are actually some of the worst offenders. (i.e.; The world would be such a peaceful place if everyone would simply let me have whatever I wanted.) That is the Smith’s Friends way. They are a very peaceful group as long as you sit down, shut up, and don’t ask any questions. They are like the playground bully who keeps the peace by beating up anyone who gets in his way. Everything is peaceful as long as he gets his way.

    But all of this is a case against people, not Christ, or the Bible. Churches are messed up because they are filled with messed up people who are not truly following God’s Word. That doesn’t mean that there aren’t some churches that are on track. There are a significant number of good people in all of those messed up churches out there mixed in with all the other messed up people.

    I get a little ruffled when people, not just Smiths Friends, generalize about the state of the church and claim that ALL churches represent the ‘status quo’ and are therefore “suck”. I have faith that God knows this and has a plan. Remember Elijah (1 Kings 19:18) when he just finished with the Baal worshipers on Mount Carmel. God appears to him and Elijah says “…I am the only one left, and now they are trying to kill me too.” God reveals to Elijah that “Yet I reserve seven thousand in Israel—all whose knees have not bowed down to Baal and whose mouths have not kissed him.” God had a plan that Elijah did not know about but Elijah did not have faith that God could handle it.

    If you don’t like the status quo then provide an alternative.

    • Hey Harold! So glad to hear from you. Yeah, I got distracted by a few things, but I’m back. I’m also psyched by your response. We are in disagreement about a lot, and I’m sure that won’t surprise you! But as we continue our discussion, I’m encouraged that we are hearing each other better and are more engaged in wrestling thru our issues rather than less. I really appreciate your honesty and your thoughtful comments. Some great questions, too!

      So, to respond… (haha, ya knew a REALLY long one was coming…) 😉

      Regarding Paul’s statements vs. my statements: You continue to miss my point, but that’s OK… it’s just little old me’s point. No biggie. At least we’re agreed that truth is truth, period, regardless which vessel it comes through, even if it’s Balaam’s ass.

      You wrote:

      >> But your statement “A reliable indicator that you are not following the spirit of truth is: you have no need for miracles” is not so easily validated.

      Says who? You? On what basis? What makes you think it isn’t easily validated? Did you try and find out that it was hard to do? In my experience, it’s easily validated, but it also involves taking steps that Paul wrote about to the Galatians, a kind of giving up that he characterized as “death.” In my experience, we ALL have a pronounced aversion to taking those steps, as did the Galatians, which was one reason they gravitated back to the Law. I have so much to say about this (as I found out after I wrote it!) that I’m going to post it to the blog rather than make this response horrendously long (as opposed to just frightfully long, LOL!) I’ll probably call it “Expecting Miracles” so check it out, coming soon…

      You raised the counterfeit issue. Yes, there are plenty of fakes out there peddling the word of God. You can recognize them by the fact that they want your money. And I think your comments on cult leaders and cult thinking were RIGHT ON. The difference between true followers of the Spirit and fakes is precisely what you pointed out about the fakes: they claim to know God’s mind from relatively safe positions, in which they stand to lose nothing if God doesn’t come through for them. In contrast, believers put everything on the line. Every Christian I have ever met in my life–including me until recently–invests far more energy, time, and attention into arranging their lives to preclude the need for miracles than they do into seeking God for real power, especially in countries like the USA where we are rolling in materialistic possibilities. That preoccupation with miracle avoidance is the “sin” I aimed my article at.

      Plus, I think that you and I are using “expect” in different ways. You seem to think it implies presumption and/or an attempt to control God. E.g., “He will do things according to His will not mine.” and, “I know He CAN, but it would be presumptuous and arrogant of me to say that I somehow KNOW the will of God and expect that He WILL heal her.” I agree, it would be presumptuous for you to expect God to heal her if you had no indication or specific faith that God will heal her. But would it be presumptuous to expect Him to heal her if He indicated that it was his will? No. And there’s the rub, I believe: Christians are unfamiliar with knowing the mind of God. They love doctrines, which outline the mind of God in general and in theory, but in specific they remain ignorant and pray that “if God wills” this or that may happen. Which brings us to your questions about being of one mind with God.

      >> Can you truly claim to be of one mind with God? Isn’t that similar to what the serpent tried to tell Eve in the Garden? There are many spirits in this world and they have power, but not all of them are holy. Which one are you following and how do you know the difference?

      Great questions, and they get right to the point. If we primarily emphasize doctrines, our “righteousness” consists of making our thinking and behavior conform to the doctrines we decided are true. That eliminates the problem of how to know God’s mind rather than solving it. If all we need to do is conform to doctrines, we don’t need to know God’s mind in specific. Paul referred to that kind of “righteousness” as the “righteousness of the Law” and said that no flesh would be justified that way. He goes on to write:

      >> But the righteousness based on faith speaks as follows: “Do not say in your heart, ‘Who will ascend into heaven?’ (that is, to bring Christ down), or ‘Who will descend into the abyss?’ (that is, to bring Christ up from the dead).” But what does it say? “The word is near you, in your mouth and in your heart”—that is, the word of faith which we are preaching, that if you confess with your mouth Jesus as Lord, and believe in your heart that God raised Him from the dead, you will be saved; for with the heart a person believes, resulting in righteousness, and with the mouth he confesses, resulting in salvation. — Romans 10:6-10

      See anything written there about doctrines or laws or rules or morality, or even behavior for that matter? Believe and speak. Christians apply Paul’s teaching here to eternal salvation, but Paul first mentioned righteousness, and there is nothing in the text here to indicate that “salvation” refers merely to being spared from hell. There are all kinds of things to be saved from. So, what makes a person righteous; good behavior? No, faith. In other words, KNOWING that you are of one mind with God. Apart from that faith, the only thing you have left to go by is the righteousness of the Law, which involves conforming yourself to a set of rules.

      You asked me if I can truly claim to be of one mind with God. What if I said “yes”? Would you react negatively, a bit like the Pharisees did when Jesus said that he and the Father were one? Besides, questioning me about my faith is another evasion, however innocent and unintentional it might be on your part. The person who YOU should be quizzing is yourself. Here is a challenge from the apostle Paul: he told the Corinthians to test themselves “to see if you are in the faith.” He EXPECTED them to test themselves and come up with an answer. How were they supposed to know? I am answering those questions to my satisfaction, but that really won’t help you. You need to answer them for yourself.

      I wonder why you don’t seem to know that you are of one mind with God? I don’t mean doctrinally in a general or theoretical way, but specifically, knowing moment by moment that you are one with God’s mind in the choices you make and the actions you take on a daily basis? Did you decide it isn’t possible? Your questions about how we know are very good ones. They need to be answered, not just posed rhetorically with an insinuation that answers aren’t possible. Almost every Christian I’ve ever met has never wrestled with those questions. Instead, they cling to doctrines that eliminate the need to answer them.

      For example, I asked a group of Christians at a New Years breakfast last January how Abraham knew that God was speaking to him when he came up with the idea to commit infanticide. Anyone today who admitted that God told them to kill their child would get committed as a nut case. Yet, Churchians consider this episode as the pinnacle of faith in God. How did Abraham know that he heard God, not the devil, telling him to murder his son? Would you think that God was speaking to you if that thought occurred to you? You should have seen the facial reactions at the table. Some of them had never considered the question. One unusually open young man admitted that he had never looked at that story from Abraham’s perspective. He had no idea how Abraham knew that God had spoken to him.

      Harold, without intending any disrespect to you, I and my faith should be beside the point to you when it comes to YOU knowing God’s mind. Paul wrote in 1 Corinthians 2:12-16:

      >> Now we have received, not the spirit of the world, but the Spirit who is from God, so that we may know the things freely given to us by God, which things we also speak, not in words taught by human wisdom, but in those taught by the Spirit, combining spiritual thoughts with spiritual words.

      >> But a natural man does not accept the things of the Spirit of God, for they are foolishness to him; and he cannot understand them, because they are spiritually appraised. But he who is spiritual appraises all things, yet he himself is appraised by no one. For who has known the mind of the Lord, that he will instruct Him? But we have the mind of Christ.

      So here’s a challenging question from me. Seeing that Paul claimed, “WE HAVE the mind of Christ,” why have YOU apparently excluded yourself from that group? Paul didn’t write about a promise that one day they WOULD GET the mind of Christ. He wrote a statement of fact that was true at the time he wrote it: THEY HAD (not would get or might get) the mind of Christ. This WAS THE CASE at the time. Nor did Paul indicate that the “we” he referred to was a select group. ON THE CONTRARY, in verse 9 he writes:

      >> but just as it is written, “Things which eye has not seen and ear has not heard, and which have not entered the heart of man, all that God has prepared for those who love Him.”

      Paul mentions only ONE qualification to be included in the group of those who HAVE the mind of Christ: love God. So, why do Christians like you react negatively to the prospect of being one with God’s mind? Do you not want to be one with it? Do you think it’s not possible? In general, in spite of their MANY words to the contrary, (gads, ALL THE TALKING AND WRITING AND PREACHING AND BOOKS!) most Christians do not love God enough to take the RISK of figuring out how to become one mind with Him. If they considered being one mind with God doable, they would then be responsible to become one with it. It’s easier to remain spiritual agnostics on that point.

      Your comments along the lines of not blaming the Church for the behavior of Churchians is an old line of thinking, and the fakes you mentioned earlier just LOVE that one. “Don’t look at me, look at Jesus.” It’s an excuse for lukewarmness and completely UNBIBLICAL.

      It’s actually EASY to generalize about the state of the church when things are so bad. It all boils down to frame of reference. When evaluating its own fruit, Churchianity’s frame of reference is NOT a Biblical frame of reference. After dropping the bar very, very low with this excuse and that excuse about why God’s power is almost nonexistent in church life and the lives of individual Churchians, I agree–you have to admit it–a LITTLE power of God is evident. Churchians jump all over what little evidence they have as proof that their power is enough. I disagree. They say, “I am rich, and have become wealthy, and have need of nothing,” and don’t know that they are wretched and miserable and poor and blind and naked. The only reason that Churchians continue to hold up their heads in light of the actual fruit of the church’s history is COLOSSAL DENIAL. Jesus’ condemnation applies here:

      >> Woe to you, scribes and Pharisees, hypocrites! For you build the tombs of the prophets and adorn the monuments of the righteous, and say, ‘If we had been living in the days of our fathers, we would not have been partners with them in shedding the blood of the prophets.’ So you testify against yourselves, that you are sons of those who murdered the prophets. Fill up, then, the measure of the guilt of your fathers. You serpents, you brood of vipers, how will you escape the sentence of hell? — Matthew 23:29-33

      Churchians today like to think that, had they been there at the time, they would not have done what the church did: wage wars and crusades, conduct inquisitions, commit genocide, and torture and murder those who dared dissent against orthodoxy, and generally repress and fleece every population it could get its bloody hands on. And yet they don’t divorce themselves from the long history of Churchian atrocities or the organizations that committed them. On the contrary, they vie with each other to establish their line of authority clear back to the apostles, RIGHT THROUGH all that bloody, atrocious history. Personally, I’ll have none of it. I love Jesus. I love God. And PRECISELY because I do, I refuse to be associated with “Christianity.”

      Paul and Jesus clearly taught that we would overcome evil with good. Not just struggle with it decade after decade and make nominal progress. OVERCOME. OVERWHELM. The N.T. is chock full of superlatives when comparing God’s power to the power of the world. The weapons of our warfare are “divinely powerful for the destruction of fortresses.” I don’t see Churchians winning overwhelming victories against evil in this world. What a blasphemy to claim that they are acting in the power of God! Instead, I see a huge number of American “Christians” putting their faith in political power, just like “unbelievers” and atheists do. Paul demonstrated and EXPECTED the church to demonstrate an entirely different kind of power, so that if “an unbeliever or an ungifted man enters, he is convicted by all, he is called to account by all; the secrets of his heart are disclosed; and so he will fall on his face and worship God, declaring that God is certainly among you.” 1 Cor. 14:24-25. How often do you see that kind of power? Wouldn’t you rather GET that power than waste time explaining why it’s OK that you don’t have it?

      Churchian hypocrisy is blatant: Churchians pay lip service to the greatness of God’s power while they excuse its lack of evidence in the REALITY of their thinking, decisions, and behavior (as opposed to their Madison Avenue-worthy PRESENTATIONS of Christian life.) I’m just not OK with that kind of hypocrisy. I think that what the Bible says should happen should actually happen. And I’m appalled at millions of “Christians” who are so indifferent to the fact that it isn’t happening.

      You closed with “If you don’t like the status quo then provide an alternative.” That is exactly what I’m doing in my life and what I’m challenging people about. I’m not in the same situation spiritually as I was when I first started asking, “Where are the rivers of living water?” on Keith’s blog. I’m still asking, but I’ve also made progress. I’m getting a handle on it. I wasn’t just going for effect when I closed that article with, “I’m going to change that.” I’m betting my life on it.

  9. Pingback: Expecting Miracles | To Christians

Please let me know what you think!

