One Day

One day, I will die. You will die.
We all will die.

One day, there will be no time left.

We will see life pass before us, or a long, white bright tunnel,
Or darkness.

One day, I will matter only in memory,
But not just yours.

I will be remembered in every place
Where my foot disturbed the dust;
Where the air I breathed returned, warmer;
By the body memories of those who met my gaze
Or averted theirs; none were untouched.

No kindness was too faint
Or harshness went unnoticed;
All felt me and carry me, however slightly,
Rippling wider, shallower as I blend–

Disappearing or uniting?

Choose; it changes nothing.

I remain. You remain.
We all remain.

About Millard J. Melnyk

Motley past, promising future exploring an open, potent understanding of mutuality, individual dignity and personal power through trust. DEAUTHORITARIANIZE EVERYTHING!
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Life & Death, Lifestyle, Poem, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to One Day

  1. s4rahislife says:

    I’m glad I made you do this.

    Blessed be.

    Sas πŸ™‚

    love you.

  2. off2cthewizard says:

    Can I still hang out if I don’t call myself Christian? Nice poem profound and true. I say tread lightly in this world we are all connected and do not go unnoticed.

    • Hey Wiz! Of course, please do, and please contribute your thoughts too! I’m not a Christian either, although I was at one time.

      Now I gotta ask, is this M or T? The email says T.

      Just so you know, I have deep disagreements with Christianity, one of which being how Christians define Christianity. It’s all too far gone for salvage, in my opinion. I think the command in Revelations applies perfectly:

      “Come out of her, my people, so that you will not participate in her sins and receive of her plagues.”

      I love and follow Jesus as I’ve come to know him. And I distinguish between people who love God (however they might conceive of God) and Churchians. God-stuff happens on an intensely personal, individual level. God blesses en masse, but only communicates intimately with individuals, one-on-one. Even the Bible tells us so. Churchians huddle together just like the Jews did when they begged Moses that God not speak to them again:

      β€œSpeak to us yourself and we will listen; but let not God speak to us, or we will die.”

      I’m not interested in that kind of “community.”

      I’m interested in people and direct relationships with them as unique individuals, AWESOMELY unique as we find out when we actually allow our protective BS layers to fall away and discover ourselves and each other. All the rest is just posing. πŸ™‚

      Welcome here Wiz!

      • off2cthewizard says:

        Thanks that is so true…. And those that go to the mountain if they are not the official leader are labeled weirdos. Although “they” humored me at times it only lasted if I said what tickled the ears. If for example I said “it stinks like rotting flesh in here” didn’t go so well. Fucking funny now. I think they should have listened.

    • And yes, I agree with your thoughts completely. For me, I’ve been much too like a bull in a china shop. I’ve been telling friends lately that I feel like I just emerged from a raging spiritual adolescence. I’m just waking up to the power I had all along, much of which I never really wanted. Having power eliminates the need for rage. Now I just gotta figure out how the dang thing works! πŸ™‚

      • off2cthewizard says:

        its Marcie silly. And yah when you figure out how to drive this thing let me know. Had visions and been inspired my whole life except during the dark years. When god spoke as I emerged I was terrified. Said hell no because I didn’t want to read that book or hang with weird Christian people or ever go back to the harlot. Although beautiful she robbed me and lied to me. But god was so gentle and amazing I fell in love all over again. I excepted the gift of salvation from the mess I made and the visions and inspirations returned. Don’t know how it works but loving it. Gods words drive me to my knees…. So for now I just wait and love every minute of my freedom.

        • Marcie, Beautiful. So glad you made it back. Me too. Sorry for the length, you got me going…

          Just been talking with Sarah about pleasure and wondering why such concentrated power from so many quarters has for so long focused on making us afraid to experience our lives, our souls, and our bodies. It’s like a cosmic conspiracy. I’ve gone over and over it for years: why would anyone want to do such a thing, lying to us and teaching us to violate ourselves? Sex is sin? WTF? Only one answer keeps coming up: putting people into conflict with themselves makes us willing to let others exploit us. Exploiters don’t care if we experience “freedom” as long as we remain sheep for shearing and eventual slaughter.

          Almost no Christian I’ve ever known gets this: WE ARE NOT CALLED TO BE SHEEP. We are called to be Kings and Priests. Jesus is NOT ashamed to call us brothers and sisters. WE ARE HIS PEERS, his soul-mates. So, what does that say about people who want us to remain sheep in their name-branded flocks, who encourage growth into our God-given right only under very tightly controlled conditions that they dictate? In this way the church and the state are the same. Religion and education are the same. They all taught us to remain sheep. That’s how they look at us, too. That’s how they treat us. The only way to get their “respect” is to become as good an exploiter as they are or better.

          As soon as we realize our power as kings and priests, the defenses of the deluded go up and they pull out their guns to combat “evil.” These are the very ones who gave us to believe that:

          1. We are not kings and priests. WRONG!
          2. We will probably never become kings and priests. WRONG!
          3. If we ever do manage to BARELY make it into the kings and priests club, it will be THEIR club, no other. WRONG!
          4. The only way to get in the club is after years and years of toil and sacrifice. WRONG!
          5. The club, not God, decides when you have “made it.” WRONG!

          Ezekiel 8 divulges the kinds of things that go on in the darkness in those clubs, abominable things. Bohemian Grove? Child’s play. Does anyone think that Kubrick’s debauchery scenes in “Eyes Wide Shut “were figments of his imagination, really? Jonestown and Heaven’s gate are getting closer to the truth. They were exceptional only because the shit came into the light, not because it was exceptional shit. Why is the Catholic Church still standing after CENTURIES of rape, genocide, and pedophilia? It is NOT because they stopped the evil that they CONTINUE TO DO in the darkness. Why was ANYONE surprised at the pedophilia? It came to light ONLY because it BECAME SO COMMON that it was impossible to keep it in the dark. Does anyone seriously believe that all the pedophiles were dealt with? They spent more on cover-up than they did on investigation.

          I know some of these club guys. The ones who get into the kings and priests club get in because they are devious enough to act like they belong there, NOT because they toiled and sacrificed most or best. They proved to the club that they make good exploiters, not good sheep. The earnest toilers and sacrificers are like the horse in Orwell’s “Animal Farm.” They work and work and give, and finally get sent to the glue factory. If they are lucky, unlike the horse, they get a little going away party where people say how great they were, they serve odd food, and everyone watches the clock for a permissible point to exit and get back to lives they care about.

          I’m thinking a lot lately about the power we have. Life really isn’t only about love, or better put, love isn’t only about niceness. The groom says of his bride in Song of Solomon 6:

          “My dove, my undefiled is but one; she is the only one of her mother, she is the choice one of her that bare her. The daughters saw her, and blessed her; yea, the queens and the concubines, and they praised her. Who is she that looketh forth as the morning, fair as the moon, clear as the sun, and terrible as an army with banners?”

          We are Jesus’ bride if we love him. Love is as terrible as an army flying colors. Jesus’ sword comes out of his mouth to slay his enemies. There are lots of sides to Biblical imagery that civilized, sophisticated people are too timid or full of their own bullshit to contemplate. Well, it sucks to be them.

          I’m enjoying my discovery of my power. I don’t just want to enjoy it; I’m also learning how to use it. I’d love comrades! πŸ™‚

          • off2cthewizard says:

            Absolutely wonderful, sad, terrible, true, thought provoking …. Every word =). I AM and it is powerful! No longer a victim or under the control of the great exploiter. Never felt more powerful, humble as the only one I submit to is my god. The possibilities are endless. Hope, peace, joy and love reign in this place.
            Thanx for your words.

            • Thanks for yours, Marcie. I treasure your comments. You’re the first person I’ve met so far who gets I AM. I’ve been thinking about it for years now: it all comes down to that. We don’t need reasons.

  3. Drew says:

    I Like this one dad. I want to hear more of your poetic side.

  4. off2cthewizard says:

    I agree with your precious son. Boiled down….. =)

    • Ha ha, like that a little better, do ya? I don’t think it will be the last. New things are coming, sister! Titillating and a bit scary… in a good way. Toes hanging off the high-dive, ready to jump. Or maybe I already did… πŸ™‚

  5. rob says:

    Dope poem man! I’ve been thinking a lot on the lines of it too.

  6. s4rahislife says:

    TO MARCIE… as said, I’m leaving a message here because I’d really like to get to know you. Don’t know what else to say really apart fom I’m drawn to you and would like to get to know you.

    If you want to, tell me.

    Thanks

    Sas x

    • marcie says:

      Hi Sarah would love to hang out =) do you have a fb? Add me warning I’m hard to get rid of lmao. Look forward to getting to know you.

Please let me know what you think!

